top of page

Superman: Lois and Clark made me fall in love with Superman

I want to ask you all something. Just a simple question that many probably know the answer to with ease or will need weeks to think about.

"WHEN DID YOU FALL IN LOVE WITH SUPERMAN?"

Now take note of the phrasing of the question. I didn't say meet Superman. I said fall in love.

No matter your feelings towards Superman or even Superheroes in general, everyone knows about or has feelings towards the Man of Steel.

I first met Superman through a DVD box set of the Fleischer Cartoons my aunt found but I didn't really love the character much as I do now. I found other characters like Flash, Spider-Man, and even Static more interesting than Superman.

During High School, which was one of the hardest and most depressing parts of my life, I once again became an avid comic reader thanks to Comicstorian and the internet. But, with my life at the time I hated Superman. I would often bash the Man of Steel and his comics at the time since it was the popular thing to do.

Before that time, I'd never read or picked up a single Superman comic. I'd read comics with Superman in it like Justice League or Justice League of America, but never Action Comics or the main Superman book. But that all changed when I went online and saw this cover on https://www.dccomics.com/


Art by Lee Weeks

This is the cover for Superman: Lois and Clark #1 which was written by legendary writer Dan Jurgens and drawn by Lee Weeks. I thought the cover looked amazing and decided to just dive in and take a look at what this story could even be about as I found the new costume interesting and pretty cool.


The story I found however, was a story that kinda changed how I saw the Man Of Steel as it was very different. This wasn't the Superman I knew from Geoff John's Justice League or the Superman I saw via brief read throughs of Action Comics, this was a Superman that I had seen in Justice League the Animated Series. He and Lois were married, happy, and even had a son named Jonathan Samuel Kent who I just loved as he was an actual kid who didn't even knew that his father was Superman. At first, it was nothing more than a tale of a Superman from another universe being trapped in the New 52 DC Universe where the history he knew of, no longer existed.


This was something new to me, the story of a Superman who didn't need to be Superman. There was already a Man of Steel running around the DC Universe, and a Justice League that was just as active(even if at the time Lex Luthor was made a member). So Clark and Lois decide to live a peaceful life on a farm with Lois being an author writing under the name of Author X and Clark a farmer like his father before him. But Clark is still the man his mother and father raised him to be and still uses his powers to help anyone by dealing with problems that the younger Superman might not be able to deal with. This leads to Jurgens introducing new and interesting villains in the story that truly pose a pretty good threat to Superman and more importantly to his family.


Listen, I don't want to spoil this tale. But when I read this, I didn't see a story of Superman being Superman and beating the crap out of Lex Luthor's new robots. It was instead the story of a man and his family trying to survive in a world where they don't belong. While only eight-issues long, this story is one that many should read and maybe for someone else, it might be the story that makes you believe in the Man of Steel.


Down below is a link to where you can buy the full trade on Amazon, and after reading it, tell me what you think of the story. Also, if you have any requests for comics or characters you want me to spotlight or write reviews for, let me know.


20 views0 comments
bottom of page